Andrea Painter

Social Worker

MSW, RSW

Andrea Painter

Credentials

  • Bachelor Of Social Work
  • Master of Sociology and Social Work
Hi. Let me introduce myself. My name is Andrea and I am a registered social worker. I completed my undergraduate BSW training and graduate MSW training at McMaster University in Hamilton. I have additional training in dialectical behavior therapy (DBT). Since that time I have worked with individuals in a variety of settings including, community outreach, family health teams and inpatient and outpatient settings. The majority of my work experience is in the area of mental health.

My interest and expertise involves working collaboratively with adults, between the ages of 18 and 80, on issues such as anxiety, low mood and depression, anger, self esteem, grief and loss, life transitions, interpersonal relationships and conflict, emotional regulation, and distress tolerance. My practice is informed by cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) and dialectical behavior therapy (DBT).  

I appreciate the importance of one’s need to have their story heard from a place of respect and non-judgment. I value honesty, hope, kindness, personal accountability and humour. I understand the strength it can take to acknowledge the need for support and assistance. I aim to provide a welcoming and friendly environment to join with individuals as they take steps to push out of “comfort zones” to create a life worth living.  

Life can be challenging and challenges can provide the opportunity for change. Making changes is hard work and doesn’t have to be navigated alone. I look forward to meeting and working with individuals as they aspire to live their lives well. 
 
I am available for in person and virtual appointments. 

On a personal note, I returned to the town where I grew up after living in British Columbia, Belleville and Brampton. My husband and I currently live in Tillsonburg and enjoy being active – walking, hiking, swimming and patiently learning to play golf. I also enjoy reading, crafting, baking and connecting with family and friends.